Watching Sky

Astrology » Planets (Grahas)

Planets (Grahas)

  • Basic Info
  • Deities
Basic Info

Luminaries — Sun (Surya/Ravi), Moon (Chandra/Som).

Non-luminaries — Mercury (Budh), Venus (Shukra), Mars (Mangal/Bhaum/Kuj), Jupiter (Guru/Brihaspati), Saturn (Shani/Manda).

Lunar Orbital Nodes — Rāhu (Ascending Lunar Node / North Lunar Node / Dragon's Head), Ketu (Descending Lunar Node / South Lunar Node /

                                         Dragon's Tail).

Additional — Uranus (Herschel), Neptune, Pluto.

Rāhu is considered to be the counterpart of Saturn (Shanivad Rāhu) while Ketu is considered to be the counterpart of Mars (Kujavat Ketu). 

In another view, Rāhu is Rāhu and Ketu is Ketu i.e. they are not to be compared as any other planet. They have their own individuality. 

Ascendant is the intersection of Terrestrial (Earth's) Horizon with the Ecliptic. Ascendant represents the planet Earth in the birth chart. To be specific, Ascendant in the D-1 chart is also called Prime Ascendant.

Ecliptic is the Sun's apparent path in the sky. Zodiac belt is the celestial strip along the Ecliptic that contains the planets, the zone where the planets can be found in the sky.

Movement of the planets in the sky is: East -> Zenith -> West -> Nadir -> East (along the Ecliptic path)

Rāhu and Ketu being geometrical points on the ecliptic, travel backwards (in reverse direction) along the zodiac.

3-Letter shorthands for 12 Planets — Sun, Mon, Mer, Ven, Mar, Jup, Sat, Rah, Ket, Ura, Nep, Plu

2-Letter shorthands for 12 Planets — Su, Mo, Me, Ve, Ma, Ju, Sa, Ra, Ke, Ur, Ne, Pl

Planets and Metals (Scheme 1)

Sun Gold

Moon Silver

Mars Copper

Mercury — Bronze

Jupiter — Brass, Gold

Venus — Aluminium, Silver

Saturn Iron

Rāhu Lead, Manganese

Ketu Tin, Chromium

Planets and Metals (Scheme 2)

Sun Gold

Moon Silver

Mars Iron

Mercury — Mercury

Jupiter — Tin

Venus Copper

Saturn Lead